Skip to content

Carl Trueman “vs.” Thabiti Anyabwile

April 22, 2011

Disclaimer: All opinions expressed in this article represent only the opinions of the author, and not necessarily the opinions of the other contributors to this blog.  Additionally, the present author is a tad grumpy after a long night at work…

Over at the Reformation21 blog, Carl Trueman and Thabiti Anyabwile recently went back and forth (see here, here, and here) regarding the usefulness and wiseness of Christian mega-conferences (they are speaking towards the “Reformed” Christian sub-culture, but easily applies to any theological context).  Regardless of where you land on the issue, it is a good issue to ponder and think about.

You may or may not be interested in my opinion (if I were you, I wouldn’t be), but for the record, I think I side with Trueman.  While I have been to a few “mega-conferences” in the past, I don’t foresee myself attending any in the future.

Also, taking it a few steps further than Trueman does in his posts, does anyone find it ironic that the “Reformed” crew, who often mocks more “mainstream” conservative evangelicals for the creation of an evangelical subculture, has in essence created its own distinct “Reformed” subculture in recent years?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 23, 2011 11:24 am

    I agree, and I think I’m with Carl Trueman on this, also. The apparent irony of the “celebrity-pastor-mega-conference” while being Reformed is one of the reasons I don’t – and probably won’t – attend any of these conferences.

    However, I must admit that I am often encouraged by – and almost always learn from – the teaching of many of the celebrated pastors/authors/teachers. Because of this I often listen to the sessions/speeches/lessons taught at the conferences as they become available online.

  2. April 26, 2011 9:04 pm

    Joseph, the first link appears to be dead. I think this link should work:
    http://www.reformation21.org/blog/2011/04/thoughts-on-marketing-and-conf.php

Leave a Reply

